Nanowrimo and writing in general

So I’m at 44,298 words for Nanowrimo this November, which isn’t only super-fast (I’ll probably done with the 50,000 either today or tomorrow), but it’s also the longest solo-project I’ve written so far and I’m still loving it, even though it’s horribly unedited still, but that will be fixed later. I’m actually really looking forward to editing this because I’m feeling really positive about this becoming a good story, once I’ve erradicated all those descriptive and grammatical shortcomings.

 I’m about to start Chapter 10 today and given how long my chapters are, this one will probably be the one I’ll hit the 50,000 with, even though it’s not the end. Not by far. When I outlined the story before, I did about 20 chapters, right now at least 30 are more realistic, aiming for a first-draft wordcount of about 150-200k as it looks like. I know that’s a little long, but then again that’s all before editing one single word (so please forgive me those horrible lapses that accumulate in the chapters posted here). I’ll be editing it by hand first (printing out everything double spaced by thoroughly abusing the office printer yay) and then punch it into the Word document, because that usually refines it once more and knowing myself this seems to be a good theory that should work out for me 🙂

 Right now I’m actually dwelling in less outlined parts of the book, but it’s still going pretty well as the story has its flow. Chapters 8 and 9 have been flashbacks again (which I really should start consequently marking as Interludes as to avoid confusion), but now we’re once again in the present time as Ares narrates the story. He’s a fun character to write with and even though he does tend to drift off his actual topic sometimes, I think that maybe this is something that just contibutes to the complexity of the entire book. I hope I don’t get into rambling too often, even though I do like occassional rants. Nothing wrong with that.

So I’m off to see about starting the aforementioned chapter, trying not to let work or car problems distract me too much :p 50,000 I’m coming, Cheers!

One Response to “Nanowrimo and writing in general”

  1. randilin Says:

    I know am a complete stranger, but am also a fellow Nanowrimo. When I saw your post saying how close you were to being done I wanted to take a minute and say congratulations. Am about 700 words right now from the have way mark personally.

    Good luck on finishing..


Leave a Reply

