Back to Writing!

Ok. I’ve been procrastinating waaaaaaaaaaaay too long, keeping my sorry butt occupied with all kinds of things, none of them even touching my notebook let alone my novel. So Light has been the neglected little stepchild since November. Even though I’ve been planning and thinking about it a lot, nothing really has ended up on paper yet, but hopefully that’s going to change now πŸ˜‰

I finally (yes, I’ve waited patiently, but not without the occasional poking) got the critique I’ve been waiting for and the certain someone who most of us know for doing those kinds of things very well, has done a really great, if brutally honest job at it. I have to admit that by now I’m sort of torn between feeling bad or laughing at some of the parts of Light as it is so far. Sure, it’s been a lot of work that I’ve been putting into it and I got into it quite a bit, but still there are some things that I wrote just to make my life easier and the word count higher…

So I’ll definitely work on that and will probably also bring in more provocative/controversial things. This is a major thing I’ve been contemplating for a while, trying to cut back on that part, which only resulted in making the whole story more mainstream than I ever intended it to be.

Next on my To Do List is finish reading the critique+comments and doing some more structuring on the technical side but also diving into it again and actually getting some good writing done.

Cheers πŸ˜‰

P.S.: I guess those months of procrastination did trigger something good after all though: I’m dealing much better even with harsh critique and will definitely use almost all of it in my editing. so yeah, go and hammer away, I can deal with it πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

