Crap…I hate when this happens…

Sooo…general writing doubts are kicking in again, but those are actually referring to something specific IN my story, even though changing that will probably throw everything all over again…

Ok, here we go. Some of you guys already know that I originally wrote Light in a today’s world/scifi setting, but for last Nanowrimo I threw it all over again and rewrote it in a medieval fantasy setting. In a way it was easier to write in a medieval setting, but now I’m sort of doubting the entire outline, because all in all it just has too many Name of the Wind/Wheel of Time/Gentleman Bastards elements in in and that’s actually not what I want to do with it.

So my question goes to all of you because I feel I’m pretty much stuck with this right now: Should I keep going with the rather traditional medieval fantasy setting or wouldn’t it be better to redo it in a modern world/urban fantasy setting?

I know that some of you haven’t seen the earlier draft, but maybe you still have an opinion and can help me out with this. It will be noir fantasy but I don’t want to do it too conventional so I’m wondering if the medieval setting really fits. If you want to have a peak at the earlier drafts, let me know though I have to admit that those parts are in a horribly unedited state.

I know this is a bit vague, but maybe you can still help me out or give me an opinion which setting you’d prefer.

2 Responses to “Crap…I hate when this happens…”

  1. Don Says:

    My god. Poor girl. I’m wrestling over a scene that may have thrown my novel in a direction I don’t think I’d be able to handle and you’re wrestling over changing the whole genre.

    I’ve only read a couple of your posts, so I’m not really up to speed on what’s going on. But I’ll surely try to keep up.

  2. nymeria87 Says:

    Yeah, it’ll be a shitload of work, but I’m pretty positive about it really. There will be some radical changes of course, but all in all it’ll be doable.

    Thanks for checking in btw 😉


Leave a Reply

