Character POVs

So far using multiple character POV’s instead of only Ares’ first person narrative has worked out really well. It doesn’t limit me to only his perception and enables me to add a lot more to the story. I like to write character-based if you want to call it that. Personally I tend to throw books against the wall that feature stereotypical characters only, they drive me nuts, even if the story may be good in some cases.

There are also disadvantages though, the major one right now being the fact that multiple characters and their perspectives tend to make books a lot longer. Looking at the beginning of Light when I still used only Ares’ POV I’m hoping to be able to scratch many things, but then again there will be additions from the other characters…see my problem here? I’m really trying to be brief, but sometimes it just doesn’t work out.

So far I’ve included Ares, Damian, Jay, Orpheus, Raeyn and Veleine as individual POVs. I’ll probably also write for Naerya since she’s the only character of the main cast that I haven’t included yet. And then there are Sirius, Arturiel, Dahlia and Dawn. I’m not sure what I’ll do with them yet. I don’t want a flood of characters, right now seven really are enough. Raeyn and Damian will have a lot of insight into the Empire side, but I’m not sure about Dawnelle.

She’s a really strong female character and is important for the plot itself, probably even more than Sirius Nymeron. Including her it would be eight POVs which is pretty heavy on the character side, but still doable. Maybe she’ll be included in book 2 which deals more with the Empire itself. I guess I’ll once again just see where the plot goes and what it requires.

Yes I’m a spontaneous writer. Right now I’m just working on getting the first draft done and am on a roll. This weekend has been great for writing (3000+ words) and I’m hoping to get some more of chapter Fifteen done today šŸ™‚

Another thing I definitely want to do is make an outline of what I’ve written so far, dividing it into different scenes and plots/subplots. It’ll be a lot of work to get it down on paper, but it’ll help me a lot to structure my writing right now and the re-write of the first draft.

8 Responses to “Character POVs”

  1. Raeyn Says:

    Imagine my bemusement when I’m googling to make sure that my writing blag isn’t searchable, and this turns up. Compliment, accident, or evil scary wench-character?

    Either way, hi again – long time, no <3!

  2. nymeria87 Says:

    Hahaha, it’s been a long time indeed, Raeyn! Funny that you found me here like this, but hey, I’m always good for a surprise.

    Raeyn’s character (male, btw ;)) is one of those charismatic and mysterious but sometimes utterly vindictive and untrustworthy ones. He hasn’t had that great a role in Light yet (right now he’s using a different name, PSST!), but he’ll have one of the major roles there. The name came up totally at random, I’m usually making up my characters and his name just came with it. But I guess we have similar tastes in names then šŸ˜‰

  3. Productiveness! « In the Shadows Says:

    […] Comments nymeria87 on Photoshopnymeria87 on Character POVssirayn on Photoshopelizaw on PhotoshopRaeyn on […]

  4. I’m a horribly inconsistent person! « In the Shadows Says:

    […] Comments Productiveness! In… on Character POVsnymeria87 on Photoshopnymeria87 on Character POVssirayn on Photoshopelizaw on […]

  5. Raeyn Says:

    The bemusing thing is that I actually ‘stole’ the name Raeyn from my boyfriend of the time; he was thinking of using in for a Warder, and I liked it and made it mine!

    Congrats on finally making it across the ocean; I guess we had to swap ocean sides to re-balance the awesome factor (I live in England now). Much success in all your writings šŸ™‚

  6. nymeria87 Says:

    Haha, isn’t it great how that name is travelling around. Come to think of it, i don’t even remember how I came up with it, it was just there, but that’s how it goes, no clue what my subconscious was on, but writing is what’s coming out of it šŸ˜‰

    Great to see someone else went through the whole emigration process! I hope you’re happy in England. I love it in the US, even though it drives me nuts sometimes and of course I’m missing my friends and family from home. But that’s how life goes. I like the idea of re-balancing the awesome factor (yes, flattering works with me :D) Hope to see you around, hon! *hugs*

  7. Raeyn Says:

    *hugs back* My MSN is the same as always, so feel free to whap me on that sometime!

  8. nymeria87 Says:

    Hm, actually I don’t think I even have your msn….mine’s Faile1987@hotmail.de so feel free to add me šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

