Languages

One thing that tends to make me want to throw some books against the wall is the fact that some authors think they have to use phrases etc in a foreign language. I guess they think it makes their characters more authentic.

Honestly I agree.

Hey, I even use a lot of French in Light, maybe even some German. But at least I fucking know the language. Nothing pisses me off more when authors use languages just to sound all spiffy without actually knowing the language.

At all.

When I’m reading Vous dispose a apprendre in LKH’s Burnt Offerings (yeah, still reading those at work, sue me ;)) it just drives me up the walls. There are at least 2 grammatical errors in this sentence; 1.) “Vous” doesn’t just mean the American “you” (singular as well as plural), it only refers to the plural in French (2nd. person plural) which either indicates formality or that the person is talking to two individuals. Neither of that is the case and 2.) “dispose” is 3rd person singular and would work with il, elle or on, but never with vous. You forget a -z at the end to make it work if at all…

I know I’m sounding extremely picky, but seriously this is something that just plain irritates me. If you want to use any language other than your native one in your books, at least make sure you know enough about it not to embarrass yourself.

7 Responses to “Languages”

  1. Don Says:

    You’re not being picky. I’m sure you’re not the only reader who knows french who’s read his book(s).

  2. nymeria87 Says:

    I bet I’m not. Other than that I just like to make witty remarks, but hey, German, English, French, Italian, Latin, Spanish and even a little Anchient Greek is about all that I have in my repertoir. I daresay that’s enough for now, but we’ll see šŸ˜‰

  3. Don Says:

    That’s all you know? šŸ˜‰

  4. nymeria87 Says:

    Like I said “for now” šŸ˜‰ Though I definitely want to improve my Spanish. But other languages on my list would be Russian and Japanese as well as Swedish. I know a couple words here and there, but I’d always love to learn more šŸ™‚

  5. sirayn Says:

    You would tell me if I was mangling French or German in my writing, right? I’d rather be corrected than look like an idiot. šŸ™‚

  6. nymeria87 Says:

    Yes I would, Sira. You can rely on me to bitch about any language atrocities. You’re doing great, the only thing that annoys me is that I can’t use “Polizei” 8)

  7. sirayn Says:

    Like a dodgy foreign corporation, I am taking over your good German stuff! šŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

