Punctuation…

It’s the bane of my existence. Really. I don’t think it’s been that much of a problem with the earlier chapters of Light, but after Twelve which is when my amount of dialog increased a lot, I’ve started to confuse myself with quotation punctuation.

Let’s get you a few examples of how different German and English punctuation is:

German: “Let’s hear about punctuation,” she said.

American: “Let’s hear about punctuation,” she said. Note: So far, no problem here.

German: “English punctuation is different?”, she asked.

English: “You are saying English punctuation is different from German punctuation?” she asked. Note: No comma. Nothing. Nada. Gah!

German: “I hate English punctuation!”, she cried.

English: “I hat German punctuation!” he cried. Note: See? No comma again…

Well I think I do have it down now…hopefully. Sadly British punctuation varies from American punctuation and I’m using American English….

Usually I don’t get stuck with grammar this way, but this has been giving me headaches for a while…*le sigh*

3 Responses to “Punctuation…”

  1. Don Says:

    When I was in school, and even today, I think that the German punctuation is correct. I even find this weird in English.

    She stood up, “Yippe, I won!”

    I think there should be a period at the end. Of course putting a period there now would look and feel weird.

    But then again, the Spaniards do this:

    ¿What are you talking about?

  2. Lavinya Says:

    American English is hardly English at all! 😉

    And seriously, you are incredible for someone who has come to English not as a native language.

  3. nymeria87 Says:

    I think Sira would agree with you on that one, Lavi 😉 *hugs*


Leave a Reply

