Doing some research on guns…

What can I say, it brings up some scary facts, even though my father in law was more than happy to answer any questions I had, researching some gun-related issues for Deviant. I’m beginning to think that guns are Americans’ favorite topic, closely followed by cars and…hm sex? 😉

Anyway, after getting through him explaining types, callibers, functions, advantages and disadvantages of all kinds of guns (I only asked about handguns in the first place, because my mental picture just doesn’t cover Ares or Damian with a shotgun…well Damian maybe, but that’s another issue ;)) Anyway, after him answering everything I ever wanted or didn’t want to know about guns, our conversation went like this:

Me: So what do you need to do to get a concealed weapons permit here?

Him: You take a class, they take your fingerprints, you have to do a criminal background check to make sure they don’t hand out guns to felons etc.

Me: Well, what about some kind of mental exam? I mean let’s say someone’s getting their hands on a gun who might be liable to go to let’s say a school and shoot a couple people. Those people usually don’t have anything on their record yet.

Him: Well that’s what the background check’s for.

Me: *rolling my eyes and noticing that he’s apparently not getting my point* Now, what do you need to do to get a gun at all? Does that include the class and exam or are they just registered as gunholders?

Him: No, you don’t have to do the class. You just need to do the criminal background check.

So someone please tell me WHY that’s supposed to make me feel any better? A criminal background check that someone can have a friend or family member do to get their hands on a gun to shoot people. Yeah, I’m totally reassured now.

Let’s just say that there’s a reason why I told Stephen that I won’t have any guns in my house. Fortunately he’s not into that kind of stuff.

Leave a Reply

