Help! I’m drowning under my TBR pile!

Most of you who know me also know that I almost always do have a couple of yet unread books on my bookshelf – my dearly beloved To Be Read pile. I love to pick up books at random, knowing that I definitely want to read them, but sometimes the mood for them has to strike me, otherwise they’ll sit there for a while (like Steven Erikson and David Eddings – I’m just not into epic fantasy right now so those will have to wait).

But looking at it right now, there’s a whole bunch of books waiting to be read finally and as work and writing and social life (yes I do have a social life ;)) take over, my reading is slowing down again.

So here’s what I got sitting on my shelf:

Kim Harrison – The Hollows Series 1-5 (I’m almost done with book 1 now and will at least read book 2 before switching to another series)

Jeff Somers – The Digital Plague (Well technically I’ll only get that one on Monday but it’s still next on the list of what I want to read after The Good, the Bad and the Undead by Harrison)

Jim Butcher – The Dresden Files 1-10 – Holy huge fantasy series Batman! That one’s going to keep me busy for a little while, but the books themselves aren’t the thickest so I should go through them in 2-3 days each.

Matthew Woodring Stover – Heroes Die (here’s you another urban fantasy one that’ll definitely get read soon!)

Lynn Flewelling – Luck in the Shadows (more traditional fantasy with a LGBT take, it’s on the list ;))

Anne Bishop – Daughter of the Blood (after Jen raving to me about those books I finally picked up Anne Bishop, even though Sebastian landed in my “couldn’t get into it” pile next to Ted Williams and uh…Frank Herbert, though I may give both another try)

Richard Morgan – Broken Angels (which reminds me that I still need to post the Altered Carbon review *makes mental note*)

Stephen R. Donaldson – The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant 1-3 (back to the classics ;))

Neil Gaiman – American Gods (STILL haven’t read that one *gasp!*), Anansi Boys, Neverwhere

Steven Erikson – Gardens of the Moon (I’ll pick it up eventually – promise!)

David Eddings – The Belgariad (another one for the classics that will probably sit there for a while longer)

Tad Williams – Otherland book 1 (like I said, after “The Dragonbone Chair” and parts of “The War of the Flowers” Williams just isn’t doing it for me, but maybe his urban fantasy stuff is better? Hm.)

Khalad Hosseini – Tausend Strahlende Sonnen (that one was given to my by my mom and yes it’s in German and yes I’ll read it ASAP. It’s fiction about two women in Afghanistan and sounds very intriguing :))

So that’s 30 (THIRTY!!!) books in total with probably more to come. Let’s just say my used bookstore and the Barnes&Noble Giftcard that I got are too tempting…gah!

Gotta love having your own little library πŸ˜‰

5 Responses to “Help! I’m drowning under my TBR pile!”

  1. Don Says:

    Eh, send me some of those books.

    I read David Eddings’ Belgariad and all of his series. Good stuff. I really liked it.

    I also have the series by Lynn Flewelling that I need to read. And recently added Kim Harrison. I should make a list, cause mine is probably just as long if not longer.

    Funny thing is I thought I was the only one with this disease.

  2. nymeria87 Says:

    Trust me, you’re not. And sorry, I’m wayyyy too greedy about my books, nuthin’s leaving my shelf, no matter how long they have to be put on hold πŸ˜‰ What can I say? I’m just not the type who likes to borrow books πŸ˜‰

    Heard very mixed things about Flewelling, but the gay MC’s bit does intrigue me, no matter what.

    Definitely recommend Harrison – Jenks is hilarious πŸ™‚

    If you need any more fantasy recommendation *inner me screams SCOTT LYNCH!!! JOE ABERCROMBIE!!!* give me a nudge 8)

  3. sirayn Says:

    I enjoyed Flewelling’s The Bone Doll’s Twin – interesting takes on gender.

  4. sirayn Says:

    Why do I have this little purple icon?

  5. nymeria87 Says:

    It’s a wordpress spy-icon πŸ˜‰ And thanks for the recommendation, I’ll add it to the list πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

