Nym’s rant of the day

I should really make this a recurring feature of this blog, because well, that’s what it is.

Today’s rant actually is yesterday’s rant, but also qualifies as a general rant from my side referring to American women and kids and maybe Utah in general, but other states are just as friggin’ bad with their baby-obsession.

I’m just really starting to lose my patience with family and random people half teasing, half serious, asking me and Stephen: “Oh and when are you two going to have kids?”

It’s making me tired really. Let’s state a couple things here:

1.) I’m 21, Stephen’s 20. We married pretty young, but just getting married doesn’t mean we automatically want kids. 21 is waaaaaaaaaaaaay early to have kiddos and honestly I have other plans for my life so far.

2.) I personally am not a kid-person. Sure babies are kinda cute, but please don’t leave them with me. I don’t want to teach any kids younger than High School age for a reason. I hate babysitting, I don’t know how to deal with little kids. Deal with it, guys.

3.) Yeah, call it selfish, but education and independence are more important to me (and Stephen for that matter), than having kids. I want to pursue the education that I want, want to do what I want, travel with Stephen and generally enjoy our freedom. My cousin is like 27 and already has had her 6th kid. No offense, I really admire how she does it and apparently that that’s what she wants to do, but being a stay at home mom isn’t for me.

4.) If all that isn’t enough, let’s get down right to medicine. I’m having some sort of unknown genetic defect that raises my risk for blood clots (thrombosis) and I already had two of those, so my doctors told me that getting pregnant – especially with the drugs that I’m taking – wouldn’t be a good idea. It’d have to be planned and generally be under supervision, because in case I get another one of those which may incur an embolia, I’m risking a really-not-so-nice death or disability. No thanks 😉

5.) I very much prefer having our two kitties and Nazca is keeping me as busy as a little kid anyway. Besides that I don’t have to buy her clothes, she doesn’t mind being by herself sometimes and she poops into a friggin box.

Anyway, I’m getting frustrated with the entire topic. Just let me tell you that: Kids aren’t for me. Chew on that, America.

/end rant

Leave a Reply

