Quick Update

On writing: It looks good for me right now, somehow I’m in a creative and very productive phase right now, getting a lot done in terms of writing and plot construction. The ending stands (though it’s been there from the beginning) in roughly structured form. As always I leave details open to spontaneous writing and apparently that works out pretty well, considering some feedback that I got in regards to Twenty-One and other chapters I’ve written lately.

I updated my final wordcount again, downgrading it to about 120,000 words. Looking at my outline, I’m thinking 120k is a realistic goal and if things keep going as they are, I might be done with the first draft in 1-2 months -yay! However, I need to add and edit a bunch of things in the beginning before I officially can start the editing phase. There are some characters and entire plot specs (like Ares&Damian officially having a relationship :D) that need to be added and that also will raise the wordcount, so it’ll probably exceed the 120k, but we’ll see how it goes.

On reading: I just started The Digital Plague by Jeff Somers. It just came out May 12th and I finally got it, so expect a review within a couple of days since it probably won’t take me too long to get through it;) After that I’m planning on some more traditional fantasy with a LGBT edge with Lynn Flewelling’s Nightrunner series and yes I picked up Lackey’s Last Herald Mage too – yay for cheap, used books ๐Ÿ˜€

And here’s just an aside, but I just noticed that my engagement ring’s broken – snapped right through the bottom. Don’t ask me how it happened, but I knew from the beginning that it probably wouldn’t last forever. Damn. Now looking to get it fixedย  – hopefully ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

4 Responses to “Quick Update”

  1. dfrucci Says:

    Wow 120k words… that’s a lot. Good luck though

  2. nymeria87 Says:

    It’s really not that much, if you already have 83k ๐Ÿ˜€

    Thanks though, knowing me, I’ll need it – not necessarily as much as finishing the novel is concerned, but not to drown myself in the pile of editing that’s coming up ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. sirayn Says:

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/7416120.stm

    Read this and thought of you. AND THEN I WEPT. ๐Ÿ˜ก

  4. nymeria87 Says:

    *nods* this is why living here sometimes scares the crap out of me…America is a very strange land…

    *shakes head*

    “The website advertisement for the offer, which continues until the end of the month, mentions that an approved background check on gun ownership is required.”

    This is fucking bullshit btw. I’m running criminal background checks on potential tenants almost every day and it’s scary to know how much harder it is to move into an apartment when you don’t have an unblemished record than to obtain a gun.

    Scary and worth weeping about indeed.


Leave a Reply

