Obama gets the Democratic ticket!

I’m thinking many Americans would have voted for Hilary just for the sake of voting against McCain, so I’m definitely happy that the race has ended as it did. Obama FTW πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

What really disconcerts me as a German just recently immigrated to the United States is that the election system is much more based on the person, than on the party background and that many Americans I know even think that the party that stands behind the presidential candidate doesn’t even matter. I keep asking those people where they think their administration is recruited from and if they really would be comfortable with yet another Republican minister of defense etc.

Discussions like that honestly depress me, but hey I’m glad that – even if I can’t vote (damn!) – there hopefully will be a black Democrat president by the end of this year who’ll hopefully bring some change πŸ™‚

This election is definitely going to be interesting!

Leave a Reply

