More Paintings!

Actually, I was planning on doing a sketch of Arturiel Valyr yesterday – I promise to get that done still – but then I ended up finishing a portrait of Ares:

– He thinks he’s way too pale, and I’d second that, but hey that’s his problem. After all he always gets himself into those situations…and no I don’t care that I‘m the author, YOU are the damn protagonist – deal with it 😉

Oh and for everyone who was wondering how Raeyn looks like, here he is (even though he usually doesn’t look that grim, but…)

Originally I wanted to put Damian into that picture, but somehow Raeyn decided to show up. Personally, I don’t mind and the scene’s quite fitting 😀

I’m not the most detailed painter as you can see (nor the most experienced, heh…), but painting character art is just a fun thing to do that lets me think about scenes and where I want to go with characters in general. Relaxing so to say 🙂

Besides that, I’m happy to have accomplished something besides reading absolutely horrible books that came to an utterly horrible and cheesy end…I’m not even going to write a review about those, because…honestly it would be a waste of time.

Let’s just say that I’m glad I didn’t pay more than $1 per book for that trilogy and that being one of the ‘big’ fantasy authors doesn’t automatically make you a good writer. Really. Just look at Goodkind. I shall file Lackey in the same category unless you show me something better than The Last Herald Mage. What really irritated me was that she actually has some good ideas, but the way she goes through with them, the horrible narrative, wooden flashbacks and scenes that don’t contribute anything to her plot… Do I really need to say more?

5 Responses to “More Paintings!”

  1. Alfin Says:

    hii..i also love art n try to learn about painting..
    i search tag painting in wp n here i meet ur page..
    have u join deviantart.com
    there are lot of great artist there..

  2. nymeria87 Says:

    Yes, I’m Dawnelle there. That reminds me that I should at least try and keep my site updated there….;)

  3. dfrucci Says:

    Excellent paintings, you have a real talent for it. You’re characters seem pretty cool as well.

  4. nymeria87 Says:

    Thanks 😀 It’s just something I like to do on the side, but it’s a fun thing to visualize your characters that way and makes for great relaxing and thinking time 😉

  5. dfrucci Says:

    I usually draw crappy pictures of my characters just for reference, even though their like permanently in my head.


Leave a Reply

