Book prices

Seriously, I love books and I know pretty damn well that my book shopping sprees are the main reason for me being broke all the time (well that and saving up for university, ya know…). Anyway so I’m absolutely excited to see Kushiel’s Mercy come out earlier than I (and amazon) thought it would and what was even better, my local Barnes&Noble had it in stock.

Now, what definitely pissed me off though was that on their website the book’s $17 for members and lucky me, my mother in law’s got a member card so I’m thinking: yay, let’s go get it, since I could have ordered it for $15 from my bookclub, but they wouldn’t have shipped it before June 19th… Well so far so good, but when the guy at the register tells me it’s like $22.90 with a membership card in the store, I’m getting quite a little bit irritated and tell him that online the price says $17 instead.

“Well, but that’s without shipping,” he replies and I’m just shaking my head thinking “Bullshit”. Seriously, there is no difference between paperback prices online and in store nor is there with hardbacks – usually. In the end, rather unhappy me buys the book and leaves the store with the resolution not to buy any hardbacks in store anymore.

Seriously dude, are you kidding me? You making me pay ‘shipping’ for paperbacks next time too?

Anyway, I’ve been waiting for this book too long to be too pissed about this, but it’s just something that really irritated me…that paired with the appalling incompetence of the book sellers there. Really folks, get it together. If I spell the title to you, you should not have to ask me four times again before getting it right…

Sorry for the rant *self-righteous snort*

Oh and by the way, I need some HELP! Specifically Don (because I know you got it to work in your sidebar), if you see this 🙂 I’ve been trying to put the picture of the cover + link of the books I’m currently reading into my sidebar and I don’t know if it’s just my own incompetence, but somehow I can’t get it to work right…*shuffles feet*

Could anyone help me out with t his? I’m usually anything but website-illiterate, but somehow I can’t get it to work…Help would be appreciated 😀

Posted in books. Tags: , , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Book prices”

  1. dfrucci Says:

    Books prices are crazy sometimes, drives me insane. You might want to get a picture of the cover as a jpg and edit the size in an image editor. From there you can host it on the internet with like photbucket or something. When you do that just take the image code and put it in a text widget in your side bar, I think that’ll work. Get back to me if it doesn’t work.


Leave a Reply

