How weird is that?

So I’m going to that New Student Orientation at my university and at the advising session I’m not only the only one who is majoring in a Foreign Language, but also the only one who does so in German. Hence, I get the head of the Foreign Language Department to advise me all by myself. How cool (if weird) is that?

That comes from me, who used to sit in lectures on English and German attended by 300-500 people. Now I’m facing language classes of maybe 10 people at best in German. Plus the German department consists of only two professors and they’re all “Oh we’ve heard about you!” when I mention weird schedules and transcripts. Man, I feel special now πŸ˜‰

Anyway, the confusion clears up bit by bit and I just sorted out about half of my schedule for the upcoming fall semester. I’ll be taking a grammar and a phonetics and phonology class in German, as well as Education 1010, probably (because I have to…) Math 1010 (or Deductive Logic, though I have no idea if I’d get the hang of that or not, but it’d save me one math class…hm). In total I’m planning on taking 18 credit hours (probably 5-6 classes) and I’ll have to fit work in there somehow, but hey, I’m a workaholic, right? Riiiiight?

…Why do I suddenly sound a tad too much like Ares trying to justify himself?

Man…

2 Responses to “How weird is that?”

  1. sirayn Says:

    Here’s my dumb question of the day, but why are you studying … your native language? πŸ˜‰

  2. nymeria87 Says:

    Well it’s basically like someone from England studying English. I want to be a German and English High School teacher here, so for German I don’t need to take any language classes as in learning the language. I’ll just do the grammar, linguistic theory stuff as well as literature classes (those are fun :D) Basically studying German here will be a piece of cake, but it qualifies me to become a licensed teacher and maybe I’ll do more with it in terms of working at uni etc.

    For English it’s basically the same thing and then I have to take some General Education classes here which is basically the U.S. way of making sure their little students know something about politics, English, math and computers… All in all this looks way easy, so let’s hope I’m right there πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

