…and this is French for ‘Are you fucking kidding me?’

Seriously, maybe I should listen to my intuition sometimes. So I’ve read (or should i say skimmed?) through Anne Bishop’s Dark Jewels trilogy over the last three days (I tend to speedread when I don’t really like the books) and honestly the French applies :p

Yes, there were a couple of good ideas, but mix a handful of good character ideas with an overdose of angsty whininess, utter reliance on prophecy, an abundance of sex and any effort to prove that your villains are the baddest and meanest around et voila…

Alright, that’s maybe a little harsh, but honestly, parts of those books just made me cringe and want to throw the books against the wall. I mean, seriously, after all that angst and character destruction and decimating your novel’s population by forty percent, mixed with some more angst and nervous breakdowns, then coming up with that kind of cheesy happy ending that almost makes me think of Lackey’s Last Herald Mage books as far as the chessyness goes? Seriously?

Alright, I shall stop ranting. I know there are many people out there who like Anne Bishop’s books – no offense there – but it’s just not doing it for me other than inspiring me to rant 😉

Leave a Reply

