Slow progress

As far as rewriting goes, I’ve really been slacking lately, but now I’m making progress again – if slowly. I started the rewrite of Three the other day, realizing that most of what I’ve written so far as well as what’s still to come, are basically entirely new chapters. Sure, I’m working with scenes and ideas from the first draft, but as far as the first half of that is concerned, I’m doing a complete rollover, especially since I added Damian as a second main character.

So far, I’ve really been enjoying it though, because I’ve had the opportunity to add an entire new plotline to the main story, opening new ways to work with the overall plot, filling some holes, dropping more hints etc. Yay for the second draft so far, even though there are still parts which I’m not absolutely happy with, but at least it’s readable now and I’m comfortable having other people read it and give me feedback.

As far as my overall writing goes, I can safely say that I’m writing in spurts. After finishing the first draft, writing almost 30,000 words in about two weeks, I just needed some time to recuperate and get my thoughts in line for the editing process. That and writing down more and more ideas for book 2, Clairvoyance have kept me busy, but I also have been reading tons.

Somehow I’m going through books like candy lately, reading 4-5 books a week and finally making good progress on my to be read pile, while constantly adding more to it (what can I say? I’m a hopeless case :p ) The more I’m reading and writing, the more critical I tend to get though. Honestly, it’s not a bad thing. Lately I tend to focus much more on the style, prose, structure and general logic and motifs that authors use and even though it inspires the occasional rant, I feel that it helps me as a writer to focus on my own style, trying to avoid making the same mistakes etc.

It really made me laugh when someone at my writing group said in reference to plagiarism that he just doesn’t read other authors’ fiction. I dearly hope he was merely joking, because honestly, I couldn’t imagine myself being a writers, much less a good one, without reading much and extensively. I mean, wouldn’t that be the ultimate paradox? How could you be a writer without being a reader? Doesn’t make sense to me.

Leave a Reply

