Just a quick thought on critiques

I’ve been giving and receiving some more critiques lately and one thing that I noticed is that most of my fellow critters love to do line-critiques, basically quoting lines and saying what they like/dislike about them and how to improve them.

Personally, I’ve never been a huge fan of that method of line-by-line editing, not because it’s not helpful. It really is good, to have details pointed out to you, but the problem is that you often don’t get an overall impression about your writing and that’s why I prefer sort of a mix of line-edits, including some general thoughts with regards to things like:

– Plot & Character? How did you like it in general? Did scenes/characters come across in a convincing way?
– Originality? Have you seen this before and done better?
– Pacing? Is the plot unfolding too fast and confusing or does it drag and move too slowly?
– Infodump or lack of backstory?
– Prose? Does it flow well or is it clunky? Is it riddled with run-on-sentences etc?

Again, I’m not against line-crits in general as they do help a lot and I like it when things are pointed out to me directly, but it often doesn’t give me an impression whether the chapter itself was good or bad. Some general thoughts about the chapter overall would help there to set things into perspective.

2 Responses to “Just a quick thought on critiques”

  1. deanjbaker Says:

    good to see this, thanks

  2. nymeria87 Says:

    No problem. Do I know you from somewhere? I don’t remember the screenname if so, but then again I’m not exactly known for having a great memory for names πŸ˜‰

    At any rate, thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

