Worldbuilding: Maps

Yeah, I finally sat down and sketched at least some sort of map of Helos. Like I said before, my map-making skills aren’t even mediocre, so don’t expect me to keep any standards or proportions. It’s all sort of tentative here πŸ˜‰

Way back when before I even started the first draft I sketched a quick map of Illyria, that’s more or less still what I’m using, though it’s much more general now. Not one for geographical details, can you tell? :p And yes, Helios became Helos too πŸ˜‰

Sorry for the blurry photos, I really need to scan the first one, but the second (and far-outdated one) is shot of my notebook. Looking at this I can tell how much this book developed from a medieval setting in a country to a more modern and definitely urban setting centered in one city.

Neither of the maps are all that great, but I guess that’s just a form of my subconscious expressing its hate for maps and any means of orientation :p

2 Responses to “Worldbuilding: Maps”

  1. Nils Says:

    The shape of the 2nd map reminds of me Britannica of the Ultima games. πŸ™‚

  2. cirellio Says:

    i love it when world maps have circled numbers for all the locations. I think these look pretty good!


Leave a Reply

