Yay for progress!

With the start of university looming ahead, I made it a point to work on Light every day. Work including structuring, outlining etc, but I tried to at least write something every day. Sure, some days this works better than on others, because writing backwards i.e. wielding the delete key in wild abandon isn’t always exactly what you’d call productive progress. But this way, taking some time every day to completely focus on writing, I want to make sure that I don’t let it slide once university stress kicks in. 18 credit hours paired with a 33-hour work week will be way time-consuming, but I really want to get this somewhere. Right now I’m shooting for being ready to submit sometime in 2009, maybe even being able to finish the second draft by the end of this year – if things go optimally.

Reality is that I just finished Four and from there it’s still quite a way to go till I hit the chapters that I’m merely editing to fit in, instead of completely rewriting them. As it is, I wasn’t really excited about Four to begin with, because I felt sort of ambiguous about that whole flashback idea, but it was one of those chapters that I needed to be there and right there as far as the plot goes. In the end I did have quite a bit of fun with it, especially given that this is Ares’ first interaction with both Valyr and Damian. Needless to say that the Ares/Damian section was hilarious. All in all it’s a very dark chapter that hints at a bunch of stuff, but there were some parts that were plain fun and I think that made it a better chapter overall – even though it turned out about 500 words longer than I’d planned originally.

Today’s progress meter shows a solid and shiny 1000 words and I’ll go over the chapter again in the morning before posting it. Yes, by now I’m so totally breaking the ultimate NaNoWriMo rule and edit as I go. So far it worked out quite well.

Again, I’m really glad to have added Damian, because of how simple he makes things appear at times. Where Ares rants and raves, Damian just shuts him up and does so quite efficiently. That said, the last line of today’s chapter speaks of genuine Damian logic:

“No idea what Orpheus wants with you, but since you asked, the name’s Damian and you’re a godsdamned idiot.”

Anyway, I’m happy about the shiny progress 😀

Words written today: 1,011

Useful wordcount of the second draft so far: 12,767

One Response to “Yay for progress!”

  1. zameen Says:

    Thomas Hardy said:
    “Happiness is but an occasional episode in a general drama of pain.”
    From my childhood days I have been interested in art and literature. It was basically an attempt to overcome the acute sense of alienation that has been haunting my life through out. Loneliest solitude is the only company that I have been enjoying. I have been having throngs around but not a soul mate in its literal sense. Art and literature provided a refuge.
    I suggest you to brew your experiences in the purgatory of your mind and heart. Emotions are to be crisped in the agonies of life to make them communicable to others. Make your experiences universal.
    If you like stay in touch with me off blog.
    My email address is:
    zameenkhudaki@yahoo.com
    (Zameen)


Leave a Reply

