Worldbuilding: Illyrian Pantheon and Calendar

‘Officially’ the Empire of Light is a monotheistic culture, mainly believing in Helos the God of Light, whom the City of Helos is named after. However, the Illyrian year follows the four major Gods and Goddesses. There are no months as such, but the year is divided by its seasons:

Spring = Gaea (Goddess of Dawn and Life)

Summer = Helos (God of Sun and Light)

–> Summer Solstice: Sun Dance (celebration of the Longest Day, celebrated on the day of the First of Helos)

Fall = Artume (Goddess of the Moon)

Winter = Nys (Goddess of Night and Darkness)

–> Winter Solstice: Darkest Night (the celebrations on this day are similar to our modern Carnival etc., celebrated on the nigh of the First of Nys)

Minor Gods and Godesses (officially their cults are all but extinct, but some of their Temples survived the Unification Wars):

Eyrenna – Peace

Aeres – War

Naegar – Water

Aerya – Air

Phaeron – Healing

Merwyn – Spirit

Except for Merwyn, who is commonly shunned by the Empire for his supposed connection to the Curse, all the other minor deities are just minor references in the novel. I’m trying to keep religion relatively simple. The Illyrian year completely focuses on Helos who is the only male among the four major deities and is perceived as superior all-uniting God by the Empire of Light. While Sun Dance on the First of Helos is generally a bright festival of Light, Darkest Night is celebrated to defy the darkness of winter.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: